Six Cardinals Named to Landmark Winter All-Sportsmanship

Six Cardinals Named to Landmark Winter All-Sportsmanship

TOWSON, Md. - Catholic University athletics was honored with six selections on the Landmark Conference Winter All-Sportsmanship Teams, as announced by the conference office on Friday.

Seniors Jimmy Golaszewski (men's basketball), Emily O'Connor (women's basketball) and Peter Binck (men's indoor track & field), freshmen Kelly Smith (women's swimming and diving) and Carlene Idone (women's indoor track and field) were all honored by the conference.

The Landmark Conference also honored the late Chris Crafa as Catholic's men's swimming and diving representative on its All-Sportsmanship Team.

The All-Sportsmanship Team recognizes student-athletes who epitomize the ideals of sportsmanship. The student-athletes selected demonstrate fair play, graciousness in victory and respectfulness in defeat. They are ambassadors for the team, both on and off the field, and galvanize their teammates toward their goals. These student-athletes exhibit respect for themselves, teammates, coaches, opponents, officials, spectators, and the greater campus community.

The All-Sportsmanship Team was created by the Landmark Conference Student-Athlete Advisory Committee (SAAC) in 2013 as a way to highlight student-athletes who are making an impact. The Landmark previously awarded a Sportsmanship Cup before the All-Sportsmanship Team replaced the Cup for the 2013-14 academic year.

Of the 46 honorees recognized by the Landmark, O'Connor was the only repeat winner.