Cardinals shutout USMMA 11-0, move into sole possession of 1st

Cardinals shutout USMMA 11-0, move into sole possession of 1st

KINGS POINT, N.Y. – CUA moved into sole possession of first place in the Landmark Conference with an 11-0 shutout of Merchant Marine Academy on Sunday. The Cards scored two runs in each of the first two innings and cruised from there to improve to 8-4 in the Landmark. Robin Mowatt led a contingent of five CUA hurlers, going six innings and not allowing any runs to earn the win.

CUA jumped right out to a 2-0 lead with a pair of runs in the 1st inning. A leadoff walk to Pat DeToro was followed by a one-out single from Mark Kalokitis.

With two outs, Nick Clary drove in DeToro with a single, and later, DeToro got into a rundown, allowing Kalokitis to come across.

The lead increased to four with two more runs in the 2nd, beginning with a one-out double by Brendan Breslin. With runners on the corners, Charlie Dillon singled home Breslin to make it 3-0, and a Mariners error with two outs made the spread four.

CUA continued to pour it on with three more runs in the 5th. DeToro ripped a double to left center to get things started and Kalokitis drove him in with a one-out single to make it 5-0.

Chris McCloud then continued his recent power surge, crushing his fourth home run in the last five games to give the Cards a comfortable seven-run cushion.

Back-to-back homers by Clary and Marc Hanna to lead off the 8th made it 9-0, and the Cardinals closed out their scoring with two more runs in the 9th.

A Kevin Nader sac fly brought in the first run of the final frame and John Palladino drove in the other with a single to left center.

Mowatt finished the day allowing just five hits, while striking out two and walking only one. Kory Smigocki, Sean Van Gieson, Miles Semetis, and Chris Nee did the rest from there.

Kyle Clausen suffered the loss for the home team, allowing seven runs on nine hits in 4.1 innings of work.

CUA returns to action on Wednesday afternoon when the Cardinals play host to Bridgewater. Start time is set for 4 p.m.