National Champions
Catholic University has produced eight individual national champions and a team national championship. CUA is one of 23 schools to produce at least two individual national champions. Here's a look at Catholic University's national champions:

Tom Caffrey (Track and Field)
Caffrey won the national championship in the 1500 meters at the 1991 Division III Track & Field Championships.

David Bernstein (Boxing)
Bernstein won the national collegiate boxing championship in 1938, winning the 115-pound weight class. The Cardinals also shared the unofficial 1938 NCAA boxing national championship with Virginia and West Virginia. However, according to the NCAA's National Collegiate Championships Records book, "Before 1948, team championships were unofficial because teams points were not officially awarded." The Cards, under Coach Eddie LaFond, tied the Cavaliers and Mountaineers with 10 points each. Idaho placed fourth in the event, which was held in Charlottesville, Va., with eight points. The NCAA discontinued boxing in 1961.

"Bingo" Stant Jr. (Boxing)
Stant twice reached the national tournament finals, winning the 1939 national championship in the 165-pound weight class. Stant lost only two bouts in his collegiate career.

Keats Baugher (Swimming)
Baugher won the national college division championship in the 200 and 400 individual medley (swimming) in 1965 at Illinois State. He recorded a time of 2:05.5 in the 200 and 4:31.3 in the 400.

Mark Robinson (Track and Field)
Robinson, formerly the head men's cross country and track and field coach, won the NCAA Division II 800 meter outdoor championship in 1974 (at Eastern Illinois) and 1975 (Cal State-Sacramento).

Carolyn Hughes (Track and Field)
Hughes won the national championship in the 800 meters at the 1982 NCAA Division III Track & Field Championships at North Central College in Naperville, Ill. She ran the championship race in 2:13.1. Her personal best in the event was 2:10, set at the EAIAW meet in 1981.

2001 Men's Basketball Team
The 2001 men's basketball team won the NCAA Division III national championship, the first team national championship in school history.